Alfred Nobel: Dynamite King

Nobel Prize

    The Nobel Peace prize was created by the great industrialist, Alfred Nobel. The first five Nobel prizes were awarded in 1901. Then, in 1969, another Nobel prize was added by the Bank of Sweden in Stockholm. The names of the six prizes now are for: Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, Peace, and Economic Sciences. The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm, Sweden, chooses the prizes in physics, chemistry, and economics.  The Nobel Assembly at the  Karolinska Institute in Stockholm, Sweden awards the prize for medicine. The Swedish Academy in Stockholm awards the Prize for Literature. For the Literature Prize, the Committee normally selects the participant for their entire works, not just one book.  The Norwegian Nobel Committee elected by the Norwegian Parliament in Stockholm awards the prize for Peace.  The Nobel Prizes are normally awarded on Nobel's death anniversary, December 10th. But some years, the Nobel Prizes are not awarded. This is mainly because the recipients cannot accept the award for some reason like death or injury or coma or something in the same category. The Nobel Prizes end up to be a very interesting thing to look at and something for honorary to be given one.